CALL US: 1 (800) 844-4983

2014 Annual Members Meeting

Former Chairman of the MBREDC, Doug Wendel, led the invocation of the meeting after a proof of quorum was secured by current Chairman Fred Richardson.

Richardson then recognized the elected officials in the audience and thanked the sponsors of the event, Santee Cooper and HTC, for their contributions, before approving the Member Meeting Summary from the 2014 meeting.

Sean Flynn, of Thomas and Hutton Engineering, gave the Membership Committee report, in which he detailed the addition of new member businesses in 2014 and the success of the MBREDC membership drive.

Ebbie Phillips, of Tyson Sign Company, spoke briefly about the marketing efforts of the MBREDC, followed by Dave DeCenzo, head of the Personnell Committee, who said the organization is still working on goals for its new CEO Jim Moore.

Jim Apple, of Burroughs and Chapin, gave the prospect committee report, where he mentioned a few possible projects in the pipeline, before Richardson introduced Moore as the new CEO of the MBREDC.

Moore spoke about his plans for the future with the organization and detailed his abundance of prior experience in economic development and site selection. 

Moore said he plans to use existing members more heavily in recruitment efforts heading into the future and thinks word-of-mouth will be a major tool in gaining new members.

Moore then introduced the keynote speaker, Hal Johnson, who works as the Chief Development Officer at NAI Earle Furman and was named the 2013 Economic Developer of the Year in South Carolina.

Johnson called for a “new day in Horry County,” and said that cooperation within a community is the most important factor to help it succeed in attracting investment.

He challenged Horry County to create a plan, build a cohesive team, invest in itself, and believe. He said this is what leads to a successful effort in economic development. 

Back to Events

newsletter signup

By subscribing to our mailing list you will get the latest news from us!